Monday, October 26, 2015

99th Annual Kiwanis Halloween Parade

Mayor Holly Brinda extends a sincere thank you to the Elyria Kiwanis for sponsoring the oldest known Halloween parade in the United States. In its 99th year, the parade featured hundreds of Elyria kids dressed in their Halloween finest.  Members of Kiwanis were on hand to generously dole out cookies, cider, and candy to everyone who attended.  We're looking forward to next year's 100th Annual Kiwanis Halloween Parade, which we're sure will be even bigger and better.  Enjoy the pictures below!

Thursday, October 22, 2015

Reminder: Trick or Treat Night is Saturday, October 31st!


Trick or Treat Night in the City of Elyria will be Halloween night, October 31, 2015 from 6:00-7:30pm!  The Annual Kiwanis Halloween Parade will be this coming Sunday, October 25th. Lineup for the parade begins at 2:00pm near Suzin L. Chocolatiers on Broad Street, and the parade itself will start at 2:30pm.  If you have questions, please call the Mayor's Office at 440-326-1402.

Have fun and remember to be safe!  Click here to read some tips from Elyria Police Department on making sure everyone has a safe and healthy evening!

Tuesday, October 20, 2015

2015 Autumn Leaf Collection – City of Elyria

Beginning Monday, October 19, 2015 the City of Elyria leaf collection program will be in operation. Leaves must be raked to the curb in piles or windrows as close as possible, but not into the street. No brush, twigs, or other materials should be mixed with leaves as these items clog the vacuum equipment and slow the collection process.
Crews will cover the entire City and will concentrate first on areas with mature trees. There is no set schedule for collection as weather conditions, equipment and personnel – fluctuate day to day. Due to manpower and other variations (weather, equipment) no set date for collection on a particular street or area is available.
Collection will continue as equipment and personnel permit but may be curtailed at any time due to unforeseen circumstances. The City will make all efforts to collect up until inclement weather arrives.
Residents are encouraged to dispose of leaves at the Elyria City Compost Center, 45 Chestnut Street during their posted houses of operation. This Center is managed by Barnes Nursery and will remain open for this season until Saturday, December 5, 2015.
Please remember these important safety points:
·         Do NOT allow children to play in leaf piles near the street/curb.

·         Do NOT place branches or other debris in the leaf piles. Doing so may result in the non-collection of the leaves

·         DO NOT park vehicles on or near leave piles; we encourage residents to use their driveways during leaf and snow season in order to keep the roadways clear and accessible.
All yard waste materials may be dropped off at no cost by Elyria residents at the City’s compost facility at 45 Chestnut Street during their operations hours (see City website).

For additional information or questions, please call the Elyria Street Department at 440-322-3129 or the Safety Service Director’s office at 440-326-1404.
Leaves collected by crews are composted and not dumped into area landfills.  

Monday, October 5, 2015

Elyria NAACP Freedom Fund Banquet Huge Success

Congratulations to NAACP President Dee Tolbert, members, and 2015 award honorees for a successful year of advancing the cause of Freedom and Justice for All.  The 61st annual event, moderated by Wayne Dawson of Fox 8 news, was held Saturday evening at LCCC featuring keynote speaker Dr. Terrell LaMont Strayhorn, professor of higher education at The Ohio State University and honoring several students and distinguished adults.
The following awards were presented:  Educational Book Awards: Precious Boone, Kayla Dickerson and Raven Hairston; Distinguished Service Awards: Nettie Mae Jackson (post-humously) and Frank Whitfield; Community Empowerment Awards: Tamara Coates and Mount Zion Baptist Church; the Lifetime Achievement Award: The Elyria Club of Negro Business and Professional Women’s Club; Member of the Year: Sue Ely  Krueger; Presidential Freedom Award:  Mr. Clay Shannon.   Congratulations for ajob well done!  … Elyria Mayor Holly Brinda